Skip to main content



Brief History

With a population of 121,474 (2017 figures) North Okanagan-Shuswap had 97,554 eligible voters in 257 polls as of the last federal election in 2015. The Liberal candidate in 2015 was Cindy Derkaz who finished strong second with 30% of the vote.

Since 1997, our riding has been held by the Reform Party, Canadian Alliance and, more recently, a Conservative coalition of the former Progressive Conservative, Reform and Canadian Alliance parties.

Voting turnout in Okanagan-Shuswap has consistently been 60% – 67% of eligible voters since 1997.

Going back in time to the early 1900s, the riding (although under different names and varied boundaries) has been held by Liberal, Progressive Conservative, CCF, UF and NDP Members of Parliament.

The last Liberal Member of Parliament to represent the major population centres now making up North Okanagan-Shuswap was Doug Stewart. He was elected in 1968 and re-elected in 1972 when the riding was called Okanagan-Kootenay. He chose not to stand for re-election in 1979.

To see the electoral history of the riding with its current name and boundaries (which came into effect in 2004), click here.